Marshmallows and milk

I really tried to do everything right, I went to college, got good grades, worked 2-3 jobs at a time, paid my bills, lived on my own, taught school, pinched pennies and lived simply.

I never stole anything, tried to be nice to everyone, worked hard to be a good daughter, sister, friend, Neice, girlfriend, etc.  I drove crap cars, worked long hours, and never ever broke even.

Relocating to be with my fiancé was not even a choice, it was a must.  My (now) husband would never have been happy in my home state, as his profession hardly even exists there anymore.  So I tried to “bloom where I was planted” and worked as a waitress, a babysitter, a substitute teacher in ghettos, a child counselor in the projects, while the parents smoked crack in their bedrooms.  I tried to be a good wife, mom, housekeeper, and as little of a burden as I could be on my husband.  All the while, aching with the knowledge that my graduate degree was holding me back.  I applied in over 50 districts throughout Ohio.  I never even got interviewed.  I was told it was because of my graduate degree(too expensive).

To say that the past 8 years living so far away from family and friends, raising two young children on one income has been a struggle is a joke.  It’s made me bitter and angry, and I’ve had a cloud over my head for much of a decade.

However, that cloud was finally lifted when I was finally able to start working toward a dream I’ve had for a long, long time, to open a drop-in daycare center.  I worked very hard, long hours, remodeling with friends I brought from NY.  I searched high and low for bargains, scavenged through thrift stores and discard piles to stock the center with great toys.  We kept struggling with one income for 6 months while I negotiated, worked hard, and finally got the doors open.

Opening a business is scary.  No, it’s downright terrifying.  Opening one when you have nothing – no assets, no nest egg, no retirement, no savings account, no job other than that which you hope to have created, seems foolish.  I took a leap.  I thought after all I’ve been through, all the sadness and defeat, that this was the answer, this was my destiny.

Last night, I had to buy groceries.  We had $20.  I took two jars of pennies and put them in the coinstar.  I thought I had enough.  However, when I got to the checkout, I didn’t.  Not only that, but there was one checkout, and a long line behind me.  I had to give things back – milk, marshmallows, corn, cereal, a pork roast, etc., people were staring at me like I was trash, an idiot, a fool.

Perhaps I am.  But I’d rather be a fool who worked terribly hard to try and make something out of nothing than a fool that just keeps eating the dirt kicked in my face for the past decade in Ohio.

So take my house, take my car, take everything.  My pride will remain.

Leave a Reply

